NewsMarch 05 2014

Garnos inducted into Hall of Fame

Posted by Lucy

Owen Garnos, Presho, was inducted into the SD Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame during the annual tournament at Presho Saturday night.  Mike Sprenger, a member of the board of directors, presented Garnos his plaque.  Garnos was instrumental in bringing the first amateur state tournament to Presho in 1993.

See this week's issue of the Lyman County Herald for all scores from the Amateur basketball tournament along with other photos.

NewsFebruary 26 2014

Playing at the farm and home show

Posted by Lucy

Kash Hanson, left, and Teegyn Sowards, both of Presho play the popular video hunting game at the GF&P's booth at the Annual Presho Farm & Home Show Saturday at the Lyman Gardens.

NewsFebruary 26 2014

Garnos to be inducted into SD Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame

Posted by Lucy

Garnos to be inducted into SD Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame

Owen Garnos of Presho will be among the 2014 South Dakota Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame inductees honored at the 67th annual tournament Saturday and Sunday, March 1 and 2 at the Lyman Gardens in Presho.

Other former players and coaches to be recognized by the association include Donny Godel, Aberdeen; Scott Morgan, Mitchell; and Eldon Marshall of White River

Garnos and Morgan will be inducted during half-time of the 7:00 pm game Saturday night between Eagle Butte and Presho. Godel, who played for Class A teams from the Aberdeen area, and Marshall will be inducted during half-time of the second game of the night between Sioux Falls Tibbs Black and Mitchell scheduled to start at 8:30 pm.

“The 2-day tournament brings a large number of players and fans to the community,” said Presho mayor Mike Sprenger.

Presho has been a frequent host of the tournament over the past years. Teams from Plankinton, Lead-Deadwood, Pierre, Onida, Volga, Harrisburg, Lennox, Mitchell, Watertown, Aberdeen, Brookings, Rapid City, Eagle Butte and Sioux Falls will play in this year's tournament.

Presho's team consists of Cody Volmer, Eric Diehm, Matt Nissen, Tyler Ollerich, Sean and Shae McClanahan, Dusty Abrahamson, Jordan Gourneau, Andrew Dellman and Brett Gardner.

Other area players

The tournament is sponsored locally by the Presho Area Chamber. Come out and support the hometown team and the Presho Chamber.

Come out and support the hometown team and the Presho Chamber and see some of the state's best collegiate basketball athletes play for the Amateur Class A and B title of 2014.

February 19 2014

Curtain to go up SATURDAY night on 20th play

Posted by Lucy

Curtain to go up SATURDAY night on 20th play

Local actors, Bruce Eymer and Joyce Hoffer,  practice their lines together in preparation for their 20th annual RACD play to be presented Saturday night, Feb. 22 at the  dinner theater in the Legion Hall in Reliance.
 Joyce and Bruce are the only original cast members still performing  together.  The dinner theater is the RACD’s major fund-raising event that provides the funding for the groups community service project. Your support is greatly appreciated.  Tickets for various performances are still available, contact Janelle Choal at  605-473-0377.

Other performances will be Feb. 28 and March 1st.

Go to page  1 2 3 4 ...... 455 456 457

Theme by Xen